Kinshasa Congo History

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has at least 250 different ethnic groups, and 38 are part of the African Union (AU) and the United Nations (UN). Since 1996, it has been involved in violence that has claimed the lives of up to 6 million people. A new report by the UN Human Rights Council shows that poverty in that country is not only due to conflicts originating from neighbouring African nations, but also to a culture rooted in its history.

Although a much larger country, Congo Kinshasa is home to more than 200 ethnic languages, including Kikongo, Lingala, Swahili and Tshiluba, to name just a few of the most common. Yet it and Congo-Brazzaville have the second largest population of any country in the world and the third highest poverty rate in Africa.

In the Republic of Congo, the locals call their country Congo - Brazzaville, and the locals in D.R.C. also call their homeland Congo Kinshasa. For years it has been the capital of the second largest city in Congo and the most populous city in the country.

It borders five countries, one of which is the Democratic Republic of Congo, which lies to the east of it. Brazzaville is located on the Congo River near Pool Malebo and is the capital of the neighboring Republic of Congo. They form a single urban area, while the smaller Republic of Congo and Congo-Brazaville are both on the west side of the Congo River and are located east and west of each other.

The Congo borders on the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the south. The Congo borders on the east with the Congo - Brazaville, the capital of Brazzavilles; and on the north with the Central African Republics of Sudan and Central Africa and the Republic of Sudan.

Congo is located in Central Africa and borders the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Cameroon, Rwanda and South Sudan. Bornu borders on the east with the Congo - Brazaville, Brazzavilles and the Central African Republic to the west; and on both sides of the border with the republics of Gabon, Togo, Senegal and Cameroon.

The country was formerly known as the Democratic Republic of Congo (or Congo - Central African Republic) or Belgian Congo. French colony in the Middle Congo, which took the name "Republic of Congo," and the country gained its independence. The Belgian government took over this country in 1908 and called it "Belgian Congo," and it was annexed by Belgium in 1914.

At the beginning of the Second Congo War, other rebels, supported by Uganda and Rwanda, took the city from the Congolese army and the Democratic Republic of Congo (or Congo - Central African Republic).

The conflict lasted two long years before a peace settlement was reached between Congo, Kinshasa and Congo - Brazzaville. Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of Congo signed the peace agreement and Leopoldville was expanded. After independence in 1960, it became the capital of the newly-founded Republic of Congo and continued to expand, reaching a population of more than 1.5 million people and an annual GDP of more than $2.4 billion.

The Tutsi-led government allied with Uganda and Burundi also retaliated by occupying parts of northeastern Congo. After the end of the First Congo War in 1997, Laurent Kabila became President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, but in August 1998 the KABILA regime was challenged by a second uprising, again supported by Rwanda and Uganda, renaming the country the Democratic Republic of Congo or the Democratic Republic of Congo. The coalition, which consisted of Ugandan and Rwandan armies, was eventually defeated. In August 1999, after the end of a peace agreement between Congo - Brazzaville and Rwanda, KaBI LA renamed the country the "Democratic Republic of Congo" and was challenged by another uprising, this time by an uprising supported by Rwanda - Uganda - against the Kinshasa regime.

History, which began in the early 1920s and lasted until the eve of independence on June 30, 1960, seems to confirm this point. Belgium's rule over Congo was condemned by Britain and France, and talks began to remove Congo from power. Congo - Brazzaville, which recently introduced a communist regime hostile to both Congo and Kinshasa - is a conflict brewing.

The capital Kinshasa is located on the north bank of the Congo River, north of Brazzaville, the capital of the Congo. As the capital, it has witnessed the country's struggles for democracy and independence. Located in the heart of a country with a population of more than 2.5 million people, at the intersection of two major rivers - the Congo and Congo - KinhasA is the only capital - a city facing the capital from both sides, but also from the other.

More About Kinshasa

More About Kinshasa